The internet is a major thing these days. It is all over the place. It’s on peoples phones, TV’s, and computers. People act like the world is about to end when the internet goes down. It wastes peoples time because people want an easy way to entertain themselves, they don’t want to have to work to entertain themselves.

I’m assuming that most of you have read the Little House books by Laura Ingalls Wilder. In The Little House in the Big Woods she talks about sitting in the attic during the winter and pretending a corn cob was a doll: she talks about playing for hours standing on tree stumps and jumping in to the snow. How many five year old’s these days do you think would have fun doing these things?

The bottom line is, people, these days are lazy. They don’t even want to work  to have fun. I am grateful to have parents who didn’t let me watch very many movies when I was a kid.

But, sadly, this doesn’t mean that I don’t have any problem these days. I am guilty of spending a little too much time on the internet, too. I have been cutting back recently and I am enjoying it because I am reading more books and writing more and working on my photography. All of which I love doing. I love reading! I recently read The Fellowship of the Ring by J.R.R Tolkein. He writes so amazingly that I can’t believe I didn’t read it when I was younger. I also love writing. Currently the majority of the writing I do is for school papers or my journal. So far in school the papers I have enjoyed writing the most are the papers I wrote for Kourdakov and Booker T. Washington. They have amazing stories that were extremely fun to write about. I shouldn’t use the word fun because both of them came from horrible conditions. But their stories are soon inspirational.

My plan is to continue cutting back on my internet time and continue to fill it with reading and writing. But currently I am working on putting picture books together. Because I really, really enjoy photography, too.

