Meeting new people is hard. It can be fun, awkward, or not fun at all. There have been many people in my life that, when I met them we introduced ourselves then stood there in awkward silence for a while. I think anybody can relate to this.

Once you get to talking to someone you often learn a bunch of things you didn’t know. And sadly, lots of times you’ll learn something about them that you disagree on. In history it would have been things like: the abolition of the slave trade, loyalty to the crown, black and white bathrooms, woman voting….. Today it would be things such as: gay marriage, feminism, supporting or not supporting President Trump, abortion…… In business they would be things like: making this sale, hiring this person, firing this person…. These are all things that could come up in a conversation.

When you’re just meeting a person or trying to make a sale, you don’t want to get into an argument. That is literally the last thing you want to do in either situation.

Sadly, this is the one thing that I would struggle with. I wouldn’t yell or anything like that, but when it comes to things such as politics, I’m opinionated. I am more to the conservative side so it’s not an extremely common thought pattern these days. I repeat, I don’t yell, I’m not a yelly person. But I will state my opinion on it. So, I might have discussions that would most likely keep the sale from happening.

One upside i do have is that I’m good at listening and that might get me out of some bad situations and save the sale I jut blew.

 

