The event in my life that has had a huge impact would be when I got saved. But that not the event I’m going to write about today. Today I’m going to write about another event that changed my life and ultimately began a series of events and emotions that helped decide what I plan on pursuing in my future.

Ever since I was a little girl I’ve loved kids and babies. I knew that children got hurt and abused, mentally and physically. But it always seemed lie a far away thing; something that happened in other cities and states. It can’t be possible that this was happening in my own back yard, right?

Then when I was a little older I learned that someone I’m close to had been abused.

Realizing how close this could hit and seeing it’s effects in their lives changed my heart, and it set in motion what’s happening in my life now.

In 2013 my older sister got a  job at a local children’s home. Threw her I heard about what abuse can do to a child. I learned how messed up the foster system is, and I heard how horrible humans can be. I heard of a little girl who was six years old and had been abused to he point that she couldn’t control her bladder. I heard of children my little sisters age who were suicidal. Children that they had to physically restrain because they were getting so violent with other children or the workers. These children are under the age of sixteen. There was so much going on and so many emotions they didn’t know how to control that these children wanted to end it. Some children had been taken to foster homes and been sent back. That was just another layer of emotions they had to learn to control.

So many things are already set against them in life and they aren’t even adults yet.

That’s when I decided to work with abused children. I know it’s going to be very hard. I can already tell that. But isn’t the next generation worth it? These children have so much against them. I want to be for them.

